From The Ridge - The McCallie Blog

McCallie announces Faculty Fellows for 2017-18 school year

Posted by McCallie Communications and Marketing on August 14, 2017

Nine instructors recognized for their impact in the classroom

McCallie School's Faculty Fellows program annually rewards outstanding educators who make a positive impact on both the academic and character development of their students.  2017FacultyFellows.jpg
The 2017 Faculty Fellows announced at the Opening of School Dinner are Director of Instrumental Music Brent Alverson; French, Latin, Spanish and Germin teacher Paul Cudd; English Department Chair Sam Currin '03; sixth-grade math teacher Roc Evans '91; holder of the Baker Chair of American History Duke Richey '86; upper school math teacher Cary Hubbard; English teacher Cleve Latham; History Department Chair Randy Odle; and Language Department Chair Frank "Paco" Watkins.
Mr. Hubbard, Mr. Lathan, Mr. Odle and Mr. Watkins are multiple Faculty Fellow honorees.

The program was initiated in 2008 by former Board Chairman Ed Michaels ’60. A monetary reward for each honoree is funded through an endowment.

A committee selects the fellows from a pool of teachers who are in their professional review year. Faculty are evaluated every four years based on classroom observations, class surveys, a professional improvement plan, department input, response to strategic questions, a personal teaching portfolio and nominations from alumni and parents.

Selection criteria include the following:
  • Passion for teaching and their subject
  • Knowledgeable about the subject and effective at helping students understand the material
  • Enthusiastic and energetic
  • Effective communicator
  • Genuinely interested in the student as a person and his well-being
  • Approachable, accessible, patient and understanding
  • Challenges boys to be more than they think they can be
  • Stresses character and values in and out of the classroom
  • Offers thoughtful and helpful ways to improve

Topics: Cary Hubbard, faculty, Roc Evans, Dr. Duke Richey, faculty fellows, Paul Cudd, Randy Odle, Frank Watkins, Brent Alverson, Sam Currin, Cleve Latham

Curious about McCallie? Request a consultation  with your Admission Counselor today!

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts